An eventful weekend on the Gridone

Publiziert von Stijn , 22. März 2017 um 22:10.

Region: Welt » Schweiz » Tessin » Locarnese
Tour Datum:18 März 2017
Wegpunkte:
Geo-Tags: CH-TI   Gruppo Gridone   I 
Zeitbedarf: 2 Tage
Aufstieg: 2600 m
Abstieg: 2500 m

It's been a while since I've "reported" on Hikr. After some travelling in South-East Asia over the New Year, I have been enjoying the Swiss winter, including a number of ski touring trips. I'm still a beginner at ski touring, though. I'm currently just doing the easy routes that have been described on Hikr dozens of times already. I don't feel so qualified yet to write about ski routes either. But now spring is knocking at the door and I was eager to start the hiking season again.

I had repeatedly read raving reviews of the Rifugio Al Legn here on Hikr, which had made me curious to pay the hut a visit as well. With the weather forecast looking must better in the south, this seemed like a good weekend for me to travel through the Gotthard Base Tunnel for the first time. SLF reported less than 20cm of snow at 2000m south of Locarno, so the Gridone summit sounded feasible. I even felt ambitious enough to pick a more challenging route on the north side of the Gridone. Equipped with crampons and an ice axe, I planned to ascend from the Centovalli side through the Val di Bordei.

Day 1
Rasa - Val di Bordei at ca. 1300m - Termine - P. 1306 - Boredo - Mergugno - Rifugio Al Legn
9h (quick pace), 2050m ascent, 1150m descent, in current conditions T3 and PD-

An incredible coincidence in the S20 train from Bellinzona to Locarno. I'm recognised by a girl whom I met briefly while skiing in Flumserberg last week. "What are you doing here?" "I'm going to hike to the Rifugio Al Legn." "Me too!" While she wisely opted for the normal route from Brissago, I took the Centrovalli train and the cable car up to Rasa.