Emerald Point - Sierra Nevada warm-up for USAlpin_Rise

Publiziert von 360 Pro , 10. Juni 2014 um 02:21. Text und Fotos von den Tourengängern

Region: Welt » United States » California
Tour Datum:28 Mai 2014
Wandern Schwierigkeit: T6- - schwieriges Alpinwandern
Klettern Schwierigkeit: III (UIAA-Skala)
Wegpunkte:
Geo-Tags: USA   US-CA   Desolation Wilderness 
Aufstieg: 800 m
Abstieg: 800 m
Zufahrt zum Ausgangspunkt:Eagle Falls Trailhed on Highway 89, at Emerald Bay.
5$ day use parking fee

After Alpin_Rise arrived in California, we (obviously) started talking about potential goals for a hike. His 3 wishes for this weeks Wednesday outing were: 1. to get some scrambling in, 2. not too much of an altitude difference and 3. if possible some snow for sliding down the mountain. Still being a California novice myself, the 3 wishes made me "sweat" a little bit, because I couldn't think of something right away. However, after some "research" I found something on Bob Burd's website which seemed like the perfect match for my Swiss friend: Emerald Point via it's South Ridge. If Bob Burd says "... we found some excellent class 3-4 climbing up the entire route, and even some class 5 stuff. It was scary fun without ropes - highly recommended", it has to be interesting. Well, it turned out to be exactly what Aplin_Rise wanted and in addition pushed my scrambling limits a tad further than I expected.