Monte Tamaro – a spontaneous exploration of the north ridge on a day with extremely clear views

Publiziert von 360 Pro , 23. November 2008 um 11:03.

Region: Welt » Schweiz » Tessin » Sottoceneri
Tour Datum:19 November 2008
Wandern Schwierigkeit: T4 - Alpinwandern
Wegpunkte:
Geo-Tags: CH-TI   Gruppo Tamaro-Lema 
Zufahrt zum Ausgangspunkt:cff logo Rivera-Bironico
Zufahrt zum Ankunftspunkt:cff logo Quartino, Chiesa

My original plan for this day was to do the Ticino classic from Rivera to Monte Tamaro and Monte Lema and then catch a bus in Miglieglia. However, when I changed train in Bellinzona and looked up to Monte Tamaro the north ridge caught my attention. When I studied it from the train it looked doable all the way down to the Magadino plain. After consulting my maps, I saw that it was mostly pathless there, but it seemed like the drops on the ridge where relatively easy to bypass. Therefore, I decided to change my plans and instead of going to Miglieglia exploring the north ridge all the way down to Quartino – it was a very good decision!

From the train station of cff logo Rivera-Bironico, I fist walked along the marked path towards Alpe Foppa and Monte Tamaro. Shortly after Monti di Spina, I realized that the marked hiking path was kind of boring (for me) and also made big detours. So soon I started taking shortcuts and later took the diretissima up to Alpe Foppa.

I have seen pictures of the Botta church on Alpe Foppa before and was impressed by them already, but seeing it in real life is a whole other story. I couldn’t stop looking at and enjoying this nice piece of architecture (and taking pictures of course). If you’re in the area, it is definitely worth visiting!