Snowshoeing for Beginners

Publiziert von SwissBob, 14. Februar 2009 um 17:31. Diese Seite wurde 4846 mal angezeigt.

Hi Everyone,

I should be getting a pair of Snowshoes next week (late Xmas present!) but have never used any in my life.

Can anyone give me some advice about what to do, what to look (out) for, where to go, etc. for a complete beginner, please?

Thanks.

Bobby

Kommentare (16)

Kommentar hinzufügen

Sesée hat gesagt: Snowshoes
Gesendet am 14. Februar 2009 um 21:20
Hi Bobby

It's really great to go out on snow shoes. Have you ever done a trip on snow shoes?

First thing is to go to a shop where you have a professional advice. For instance Vaucher in Berne is very good.
Second you have to see that the snow shoes have sufficient grip (like grampons) underneath otherwise it will be very slippery on hard snow.

Third the binding is very important. I personally don't like the MSR Snow shoe binding because they can get loose and the ends are to long and you tend to step on it.

Personally my favorite is TSL 325 ESCAPE because it has got a solid binding fitting your shoes.

You have also to think about which boots you are wearing with the snow shoes.
The best thing is a solid walking boot so that you have got a good support.

I hope you got a bit an impression what to look for. If you have any more questions please contact me on my Email.

Greetings

Sesée

SwissBob hat gesagt: RE:Snowshoes
Gesendet am 15. Februar 2009 um 16:53
Hi Sesée,

Thanks for your advice, I really appreciate it.

I was actually looking at a set of MSR "Lightning Ascent" yesterday but won't be able to try them on until Friday when they get the correct size in!

I will certainly take a close look at the bindings then and see if I can take a look at the TSLs, too.

Best wishes,

Bobby

Zaza hat gesagt:
Gesendet am 15. Februar 2009 um 17:24
Hi Bobby,

why, your're lucky! This is the ideal time to start snowshoeing, as even the lower areas (such as Jura or Emmental) have a nice snowcover.